Post hardcore outfit HYPOPHORA reveal new single ‘Smiling (Numb)’ taken from their forthcoming album ‘Douse’

Devon’s post hardcore outfit HYPOPHORA will release their debut album ‘Douse’ on the 21st September via Easy Action/Zen Ten Records‘Douse’ is an absolute journey; it’s one of those records that should be listened to from start to finish. It’s not a concept record as such but it’s definitely the type of album that should be appreciated as one piece.

The next single to be taken from the release titled ‘Smiling (Numb)’ premiered with UPSET magazine earlier this week and you can now watch and share the link below..

‘Douse’ boasts recurring musical and lyrical motifs and some of the band’s most interesting, exciting and ambitious musical ideas to date. A weird but wonderful blend of musical tastes, journeying from jazzy and soulful riffs to scatty, frantic and funky grooves but new single ‘Smiling (Numb)’ is by far the most diverse track.
“As one of two tracks from Douse to feature Emile Hinton on piano, the only track written by James Farmer, featuring instrument swaps from Karum & James and a beach summer vibe – Smiling is by far the most divergent track from the debut album.” states HYPOPHORA guitarist and vocalist Karum Cooper.

BBC Introducing in Devon and Cornwall have been a huge support of the band, playing all their new single releases repeatedly every week on BBC Radio Devon and Cornwall; including giving‘Smiling {Numb) last weekend.The band have also had great support from Elise Cobain at Amazing Radio and Pete Bailey at Primordial Radio has had the bands latest single ‘Spires’ climbing the playlist over the past few weeks and now into the A list.

Live dates:

22nd – Music Expo UK, Bath Showground
28th – Old Bakery Studios, Truro
29th – Venomfest, The Exchange, Bristol
7th – 23 Bath St, Frome
11th – The Stannary, Penryn
12th – Apple & Parrot, Torquay
13th – Turbulence Festival, Plymouth
20th – Suburbia, Southampton
26th – Studio Bar, Penzance
27th – Fuel Cafe, Manchester
3rd – The Dragonffli, Pontypool
1st – Crofter’s Rights, Bristol

HYPOPHORA ‘Douse’ track listing:

1) Mercurial
2) Behave!
3) Sorcerers
4) Headlines
5) Etiolate
6) Chemical X
7) Spires
8) To Hear; Listen
9) Smiling (Numb)
10) Cars Run On Friendship
11) Ordinary

‘Douse’ is releases on the 21st September via Easy Action/Zen Ten Records. 

Pre order here:

Katie McConnell ‐ Vocals
Karum Cooper ‐ Guitar and Vocals
Lewis Pilcher ‐ Bass Guitar
James Farmer ‐ Drums/Percussion


For review requests, interview requests or any other press enquiries please contact: Steph Knight @ Domino PR

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.